Leia Stone & Jaymin Eve – Releasing The Gods (The Titan’s Saga #1)

Title: Releasing The Gods (The Titan’s Saga #1)

Authors: Leia Stone & Jaymin Eve

Retailers: Amazon

Date of Publication: November 2, 2019

Length: 221 pages

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Audience: Young Adult

Collective Favorite Quote: 

Sensitivities: Sexual content and language

Other Books in the Series: Wrath of The Gods (The Titan’s Saga Book 2); Revenge of The Gods (The Titan’s Saga Book 3)

Disclaimer: There may be some “spoilers” in our detailed banter below:


Hello readers!

Today we will be reviewing Releasing The Gods (The Titan’s Saga #1) by author Leia Stone & Jaymin Eve.

Please see above for more details on the book.

This story is about a teenage girl whose life changes the moment she enters a cave while trying to have a good time with her friends. Enter Cronus, a Titan, who will lead her to a future she could never have anticipated while unearthing secrets to the past she could never dream up. 

This book is not the first we have reviewed with a new take on gods and goddesses. How does this book compare to the others?

Bridgette – This book about gods and goddesses really does not compare to any of the others we have reviewed because it is so different from them all. This is a truly teen/young adult view with unexpected twists of the stories we have been told our whole lives. Leia Stone and and Jaymin Eve bring comedic relief while appealing to a very young audience with their writing in this book.

Amy- I find it intriguing to have Cronus as the main character. It was refreshing. I loved it! 

Claire – I really enjoyed the world Jaymin and Leia created. Not only did they give a fresh spin on Greek mythology but an unprecedented one, as well. In this plot, the Titans are on the good side which is a take I had never read. The pace was a bit quick but I was glad someone was finally brave enough to refrain from painting Zeus and Co. as the saviors having locked up the evil Titans. #downwithtradition #almamater #gotitans 

A struggle for survival and discovering one’s true identity are central themes explored in this book, yet comedy remains a constant. How well do the authors incorporate comedy with the serious themes of the story?

Bridgette – I truly enjoyed this odd twist of comedy which I would never have freely admitted to liking before reading this book. It is very unlike me to enjoy a story told with such a young target audience and the usage of so many hashtags. But the irony of the comedy won me over. I truly laughed while reading this story and looked forward to figuring out where the story was going the entire time.

Amy- I really enjoyed the comedy that was in this book, these two are saving the world but still find time to be funny. It was an easy read and kept me turning my pages to find out what was happening! A giggle here and there is always a treat!

Claire – That is one thing to call the constant in this book. Leia was surely stoned when she decided hashtags would be of comedic relief. However, the plot itself is comedic. Twenty-fun year old girl releases the Titan of all Titans, Cronus, #Oopsdididothat, who is now sort of bound to her…#stucklikeglue while the duo try not to be killed by the other Greeks gods and prevent the Apocalypse. I’m not saying this makes Maisey #managementmaterial but these are some great resume builders.

This book is certainly geared toward a younger audience (Gen Z or Z Gen for those who have no understanding of the generation) with references to hashtags. Did you find this added or detracted to the value of the book?

Bridgette – This question directly relates back to the last, I found the comedy to be built on this over usage of hashtags. I am by no means a young adult who lives by the hashtags she tweets or shares on Instagram. However, each time a hashtag was used throughout the story I found myself smiling or laughing at the ridiculousness of it all. I am not sure if this was the intent of the authors, but I truly enjoyed it.

Amy- I guess this is where my age shows. I don’t understand the point of hashtags or use them. I didn’t absolutely hate them but I could have done without them. They were funny but the context alone was funny without all the hashtags.

Claire – As mentioned in my previous answer, I found the hashtags to be of little use to the overall story. Especially at the start of the book, I couldn’t help but think of Maisey as this shallow, ego-centric tween when taking into account her social media habits. Setting these concerns aside, Maisey truly is just a small-town girl living in a lonely world…#shetookthemidnighttrain #andunleashedhavoc…while proving to herself and others that she is worthy of a good life. It is completely possible to portray a protagonist in a less-than-intelligent light with flashes of growth without the use of hashtags but #whatdoiknow #notmuch…#z #gen #soundslikeasoda

We have reviewed individual books by Jaymin Eve and Leia Stone in the past. Do you feel the two make a dynamic duo writing together?

Bridgette – When we reviewed books in the past by both Jaymin Eve and Leia Stone I enjoyed each book. I think I had a preference for Leia Stone’s story telling in her Dragons and Druids Series. However, I think their writing together was seamless. I would not be able to tell you where one ends and the other picks up. I believe this duo will keep readers hooked with their combined effort in this series.

Amy- They meshed very well in my opinion! It was a seamless duo and I can’t wait to read part 2!!

Claire – Just like chocolate and peanut butter, I think these two compliment each other very well #newfoodgroup. They incorporated elements of snark, wit, and tension all into one fresh take on traditional and exhausted Greek mythological stories. I will definitely be on the lookout for more of their work #perfectpair #doubletrouble #divineduplicate 

This book is fast-paced and short in length (221 pages). Were the authors able to do the story justice at this length?

Bridgette – This book was a bit more fast-paced and shorter than I prefer typically. But how amazing is it to sit down for a short read to be humored for just a while and then pick up a move on to the next? It is a refreshing change from some of the lengthier books I typically read. I do believe the story could have been expanded in length to better justify all of the exciting things which happened throughout but I will take all I can get from this story, even if it means waiting for future books.

Amy- I think this book was fast and over quick. That being said it left you hanging at the perfect spot and even has chapter one for the next one. These girls know how to keep you turning the pages!

Claire – This book did have a quick pace at such a short page length but it worked. The authors were able to write a book that takes a generous spin on Greek gods without taking themselves too seriously. I think that’s why I was so hung up on the hashtags because I was trying to read with authenticity but this novel is meant to be a quick, fun read. 

Still, Maisey and Cronus were so fun to read about with their chemistry and endless banter…#meet #insultandinjury #teentitans #littlewords #lottaaction

Based on this book, will you continue on with the series and do you recommend others read it?

Bridgette – I already have the next book geared up in my queue to be read next and I certainly will keep an eye out for the third and final book (maybe they will expand even further after the third book). I recommend this book to any reader who wants something short and funny but who can also deal with a book geared toward a much younger audience. Enjoy your reading and let us know what you think!

Amy- Yes!!! I will be reading the series, and you need to do the same!!

Claire – For the sake of being humored in a non-conventional way, I am interested in reading the rest of the series. Not to mention that cliffy…#cantheyfixit #yestheycan…If you like Greek gods, enjoy snarky banter, and are willing to tolerate over 200 pages of hashtag usage with a little end of the world destruction thrown in there, you should certainly check this book out. 


Thanks for reading. Comment below if you have read Releasing The Gods (The Titan’s Saga #1) by author Leia Stone & Jaymin Eve or if you are going to put it on your TBR!

Disclosure: We are in no way affiliated with the author and are not being compensated for this review.

Amy & Bridgette & Claire

Amy’s Rating: 4

Bridgette’s Rating: 

Claire’s Rating: 3.5

 

Leave a comment