Skyborn (Dragons and Druids Series Book One) – Leia Stone

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

  • Title: Skyborn (Dragons and Druids, Book One)
  • Authors: Leia Stone
  • Retailers: Amazon
  • Date of Publication: December 26, 2017
  • Length: 284 pages
  • Genre: Paranormal Werewolf & Shifter Romance
  • Audience: Teen & Young Adult
  • Collective Favorite Quote: “Druid say what?”
  • Sensitivities: Loss of a loved one, Minor Violence
  • Other books within the series: Earthbound (Book Two); MagicTorn (Book Three)

Bookbub – Skyborn (Dragons and Druids, Book One) – Leia Stone

Disclaimer: There may be some “spoilers” in our detailed banter below:

Hello readers!

Today we will be reviewing Skyborn (Dragons and Druids, Book One) by Leia Stone.

Please see above for more details on the book.

This book is about a high school graduate who takes herself to hike the Grand Canyon as a graduation celebration and soon finds her world completely changed by a secret about herself. She is lost, alone and seeking refuge. Suddenly, she may have just found a group of people who can help her find answers and even survive the vast changes to her life. 

What are three words you would use to describe this book? 

BridgetteExciting, Complex, and Mysterious

Amy – Action-packed, Moving, and Magical

How did you feel about the characters in this book? Did you end up with a favorite? 

BridgetteI really enjoyed the array of characters in this book. Each character brought value to the story and I found myself piqued with curiosity regarding the back stories for all of them. There were no characters I felt needed to be removed or reduced in the story, nor any who needed more time in the spotlight. If I had to pick a favorite character it would be Mittens, the kitten, obviously! 

Amy  This book had a lot of exciting characters in it. They all brought a lot to the table! I can’t wait to see what happens next. I think my favorite would have to be Danny. He was just a lot of fun and added some comic relief with his quirkiness!

What are your thoughts on the makeup of the setting paired with the plot in this book (magical creatures and Arizona)? 

BridgetteI always find it interesting when a fantasy genre book is set in present time Earth. There is always an interesting mix of this fantasy genre and our every day world which is quite fun. It really makes the crazy readers like me who enjoy this kind of book think about what the world would be like if it were real. I loved the overlying concepts within the book that cross what we know to be in life today (sickness, weird occurrences, etc…) and mixing it with this fantasy created in the book. 

Amy  I agree with Bridgette. It’s neat to see the set take place on Earth and have magic. It really gets you thinking about how different our world could be if such a thing existed! I mean, just imagine dragons flying overhead and asking if they could give you a ride to work. Kidding! But I think there is always something special about being able to get readers to see the picture authors write for us.

Did this book keep your attention or did you find your attention slipping?

BridgetteThis book kept my attention the entire time. I read it in one sitting. It was a quick read for me and I really think other reads will really enjoy this book. I found Leia Stone’s writing to be easy to read and truly deep in the descriptions of the magical world presented. There were also so many ways humor was introduced into the book and I always love when authors accomplish that feat! 

Amy  I will admit it took me a minute to read, but it wasn’t the book this time. It was life! Once I had a moment this was a quick and easy read for me. I really enjoyed this story and the attention to detail. I love how all the characters mesh, the flow of the story, and the easy but fulfilling read.

Have you read other books by Leia Stone? How do they compare? If you haven’t, would you read more books by her? 

BridgetteI have not read other books by Leia Stone, yet! This was one of Amy’s “To Be Read” books from our post a few weeks ago. I am glad it was because now I am ready to pick up another book by this author and I can’t wait! She clearly cares about a lot of issues and shows those in her books. I really enjoy when an author spreads awareness through their works tastefully. 

Amy  I loved all the books I have read by Leia Stone. I haven’t picked up one yet I didn’t enjoy. She is very talented with her words and I have always thought her flow of writing is amazing!

How original is the story? Does it remind you of other books, movies, etc…?

Bridgette – Skyborn (Dragons and Druids Book One) does remind me of several other books I have read and…(okay, I’m going to be really honest with readers here and I expect you not to make fun of me!) SKYRIM. I love Skyrim (video game for those of you who don’t know) and I had just been thinking about trying to find some fan fiction. Well, this book was a pleasant surprise for me and I kept finding myself comparing concepts in the book to some concepts in Skyrim. It is so much fun as a reader to find books that relate to other things in our lives!

Amy  I think Skyborn is very original. I liked how the magical realm is done with the skyborn, earthbound, and fae. I thought it was a refreshing take on dragons and other mythical creatures. 

This book is a series, will you keep reading? If so, what do you hope to find in the next book? 

BridgetteYes!!!!! I love when I can get really excited about a book. This is one, I am ready to pick up the next book in the series and I hope it ramps up the excitement with the main character, Sloane, and Logan. I would also like to get more backstory for the bad guy and the good guy. 😉 Allow me not to give away too much detail. It is an exciting tale. 

Amy  Yes, I have to know what happens next! I want to see how  everyone grows in their relationships, pack life, and their magical capabilities! 

Everyone always wants to know, HOW WAS THE ENDING?

BridgetteI really enjoyed the flow of this book. I found myself completely intrigued and needing to know what was coming next. The ending leaves the reader on a bit of a cliffhanger, but not too much. There is a plan in mind for where things are going to go in the next book, but there is still so much to learn about the world created and the characters. I was really happy with the ending giving just enough away without spoiling the next book or leaving me pulling my hair out in frustration. 

Amy  Like Bridgette said it has a slight cliffhanger, but nothing that made you a sopping mess which I appreciate! It was an amazing building up to the big plot and the slow tying it all together to end. It was a great read and I can’t wait to see what happens!

Would you recommend this book, if so, why?

BridgetteYes! Go get this book and read it! Now! I mean, if you are a nerd like me anyway. This is a fantasy book, but it is written very well and will keep you interested through to the end. Dragon shifters. Druids. Magic. Animal shifters. MITTENS the kitten! Do I need to keep going or are you going to start reading it yet?

Amy  Yes, right now! Stop what your doing and go get it!! If you like dragon shifter books this is one for you. It is an easy read and really keeps your attention to the very end! Go grab this book and get to reading, you won’t regret it!


Thanks for reading. Comment below if you have read Skyborn (Dragons and Druids, Book One) or if you are going to put it on your TBR!

Disclosure: We are in no way affiliated with the author and are not being compensated for this review.

Bridgette & Amy


Amy’s Rating:  4

Bridgette’s Rating: 4

Average Rating: 4

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment